胃胀

什么是腹胀?腹胀是胃感到饱满而紧绷的一种状况,使您感到非常不舒服。它可能是由于进食过多或进食时摄入过多空气等简单原因引起的,但通常与潜在的胃肠道疾病(如IBS)有关。让我们排除暴饮暴食,并假设[…]

便溏

简而言之,腹泻是您大便的时候,您可能会感觉无法始终控制腹泻。每天最多排三次粪便是正常的。健康的大便(又称大便)应坚实但不难通过,理想情况下应形成柔和的“ S”形。腹泻时,大便容易[…]

肠道菌群失调

什么是肠道营养不良?人体中,尤其是肠道中存在着数万亿细菌。这些微小生物是生活在我们消化道中的一个复杂多样的群体,通常被称为微生物群或肠道菌群,但通常被称为“好”或“坏”细菌。顾名思义,[…]

漏肠

什么是漏肠?我们的消化系统非常聪明。肠壁的内衬有助于确保重要营养素有效地转移到我们的系统中,同时阻止有害物质(毒素和有害细菌)的进入-但前提是我们的肠道健康状况良好。但是,如果我们的直觉是[…]

小肠细菌过度生长

什么是SIBO?小肠(或小肠)是将胃与大肠/肠连接的“管”。它长约6m,就像大多数胃肠道中都含有细菌。但是,它的细菌数量通常比大肠要低。小肠在消化食物和[...]中起着重要作用。

肠易激综合症

什么是肠易激综合症或IBS?肠易激综合症或IBS是一种影响下肠或结肠的疾病,这很普遍,在澳大利亚人的20%附近受到影响。虽然它可能引起困扰和不适,但这可能是更严重疾病的征兆。最常见的症状是:腹痛[…]

胃酸缺乏症

什么是胃酸过少?胃酸过少是低水平的胃酸(盐酸)的科学术语。盐酸和酶可以帮助您的身体消化和吸收食物中的营养。它还有助于消除胃中的细菌和病毒,保护您的身体免受感染。胃酸或胃酸低的人可以[…]

胃食管反流症/胃食道逆流症

什么是上帝? GORD(或美国的GERD)是胃食管反流病的缩写。胃食管只是描述您的胃(胃)和将其连接到您的口腔(食管)的“管道”的科学方法。胃酸反流或胃灼热是一种在胸部,有时甚至在喉咙后部感觉到的灼痛,[…]

腹泻

什么是腹泻?腹泻包括大便稀疏,水样便,通常每天排便次数也有所变化。急性腹泻是持续很短时间的腹泻。它通常持续约一两天,但如果持续超过几天,则可能是更多[...]的迹象。

便秘

什么是便秘?便秘意味着您很难做到“第二”。您可能会排便,但必须费劲。否则,您可能要几天没有通过任何检查。它通常涉及干燥,坚硬的粪便。在正常情况下,我们的结肠(大肠的主要部分)[…]

Stomach Bloating

What is bloating? Bloating is a condition where your stomach feels full and tight, making you feel very uncomfortable. It can be caused by simple things like overeating or taking in too much air as you eat, but it is often associated with an underlying gastrointestinal issue such as IBS. Let’s exclude overeating and assume […]

Loose Stools

Put simply, diarrhoea is when you poop a lot—and you may feel you can’t always control it. It’s normal to pass stools up to three times a day. A healthy stool (a.k.a. a poop) should be solid but not difficult to pass, ideally forming a gentle ‘S’ shape. When you have diarrhoea, your stools tend […]

Gut Dysbiosis

What is gut dysbiosis? There are trillions of bacteria living in our bodies, especially in our gut. These tiny organisms are a complex and diverse group that live in our digestive tracts, and are commonly known as microflora or gut flora, but often referred to as either ‘good’ or ‘bad’ bacteria. As the names suggest, […]

Leaky Gut

What is leaky gut? Our digestive system is incredibly clever. The lining of the intestinal walls helps ensure the efficient transfer of important nutrients into our system, while simultaneously blocking the entry of harmful substances (toxins and bad bacteria) – but only if our gut health is in good shape. However, if our gut is […]

SIBO

What is SIBO? The small intestine (or small bowel) is the ‘tube’ that connects the stomach to the large intestine/bowel. It’s around 6m long, and like most of the gastrointestinal tract contains bacteria. However, it’s usually lower in bacteria numbers than the large bowel. The small bowel has an important role in digesting food and […]

Irritable Bowel Syndrome

What is Irritable Bowel Syndrome or IBS? Irritable bowel syndrome or IBS is a condition that affects the lower bowel or colon and it’s quite common, affecting around 20% of Australians. While it can cause distress and discomfort, it may be a sign of a more serious illness. The most common symptoms are: Abdominal pain […]

Hypochlorhydria

What is hypochlorhydria? Hypochlorhydria is a scientific term for a low level of stomach acid (hydrochloric acid). Hydrochloric acid, along with enzymes, helps your body to digest and absorb nutrients from food. It also helps eliminate bacteria and viruses in the stomach, protecting your body from infection. People with low gastric or stomach acid can […]

GORD/GERD

What is GORD? GORD (or GERD in the US) is an abbreviation for Gastro-Oesophageal Reflux Disease. Gastro-Oesophageal is just a scientific way to describe your stomach (gastro) and the ‘pipe’ that connects it to your mouth (oesophagus). Acid reflux or heartburn is a burning pain felt in the chest and sometimes back of the throat, […]

Diarrhoea

What is diarrhoea? Diarrhoea involves loose, watery stools (poo) and often a change in the usual number of daily bowel movements. Acute diarrhoea is diarrhoea that lasts a short time. It usually lasts about one or two days, but if it lasts more than a few days it may be a sign of a more […]

Constipation

What is constipation? Constipation means you find it difficult to do a ‘number two’. You may have a bowel movement—but you have to strain to do it. Or you may go days without passing anything at all. It usually involves dry, hard stools. Under normal circumstances, our colon (the main part of the large intestine) […]